There are two laws the Wiccan and Wittans acknowledge,
the Wiccan Rede and the Threefold Law.


The Wiccan Rede
(click above for full version)

Eight words the Wiccan Rede fulfill:

As ye harm none, Do what ye will...

The Threefold Law

Ensure that your actions are honorable,
for all that you do shall return to you,|
threefold, good or bane.


13 Goals of a Witch

1. Know yourself.

2. Know your Craft.

3. Learn.

4. Apply knowledge with wisdom.

5. Achieve balance.

6. Keep your words in good order.

7. Keep your thoughts in good order.

8. Celebrate life.

9. Attune with the cycles of the Earth.

10. Breathe and eat correctly.

11. Exercise the body.

12. Meditate.

13. Honor the Goddess and God.




The Pentacle contains many wonderful layers of symbolism. 
It is a five pointed star that is the universal symbol of Western Paganism.
The five points symbolize the four directions and four elements,
with the fifth point as the element of Spirit, within and without.
The circle around the star symbolizes unity and wholeness.
The earliest example of the Pentagram dates back to ancient Babylon,
over 8,000 years ago.
It has now been denounced by Christians,
but was once used by them to symbolize the "Five Wounds of Christ".
  It has been called the "Druids Foot"  and "Witches Star".
Similar to other figures which are made of a single unbroken line,
this symbol is used to mark off magical enclosures or ritual areas,
especially when used for invocation of deities or spirit.


The pentagram (star of life),
has became stigmatized as a sign of heretical thought and as something of evil.
These negative attributes were further reinforced by the use of the upside down pentagram by some satanic cults who are probably more "Anti-Christians" than "Pagans". as their beliefs are not those of most Neo-Pagan groups.
Modern media continues to distort the meaning of the pentagram
by showing it in both its upright and inverted position,
yet portraying all who use it as evil.
The pentagram tells us that we have the ability to bring Spirit to Earth;
this applies to every area of practical day-to-day living,
as well as spiritual thought.
The ability of bringing Spirit to Earth is what makes us whole.

Traditionally, each of the five angles has been attributed to the five metaphysical elements of the ancients:
(click on each element for a more in depth look at it)

EARTH:  represents stability and physical endurance.

FIRE:  represents courage and daring.

WATER: represents emotions and intuition.

AIR:  represents intelligence and the arts.

SPIRIT:  represents the All and the Divine.

Along with the elements each point is represented by particular dieties which embodies that element.  It is up to the practitioner and the pantheon he chooses to assign the god or goddess of choice.


Recommended Books :

Witta  by Edain McCoy
Celtic Magic by D.J Conway
Feary Wicca by Kisma Stepanich
Celtic  Womens Spirituality by Edain McCoy
Book of Shadows by Phyllis Curott


Lady Tia's Celtic Home


Celtic Lunar Zodiac




Moon Phases